Ellis names Banyana Banyana final squad for Cosafa Women's Cup

Spread the love

The defending champions will launch their title defence with a difficult sport towards Angola at Wolfson Stadium on November three

Banyana Banyana coach Desiree Ellis has named her 20 gamers for the ultimate squad for the upcoming Cosafa Ladies’s Cup.
The South Africa ladies’s senior nationwide staff will characteristic as defending champions within the eighth version of the regional event which can run from November three to 14.

The standard alternatives embody goalkeepers Andile Dlamini and Kaylin Swart, Bongeka Gamede, Sibulele Holweni, Robyn Moodaly and Gabriela Salgado, who have been a part of the 2019 title-winning squad.

On her determination behind the ultimate choice, Ellis, who’s absolutely conscious of the threats Zambia and Malawi will pose, is optimistic her younger proficient gamers will go away a mark on the event.

“The Cosafa Cup is for native gamers and it’s at all times nice to provide new gamers an opportunity to show themselves,” Ellis advised

“I’ve been impressed with the work that the present crop of gamers have put in and the pre-tournament week can be an necessary one for us to shine up earlier than the event begins.”

Banyana are drawn towards Eswatini, Comoros and Angola in Group B and can open their title defence towards Angola on November three earlier than conferences with Eswatini and Comoros within the group stage.

The champions are eyeing their file seventh triumph and the third crown in a row on the third event on house soil.

South Africa squad

Goalkeepers: Kaylin Christen Swart (Unattached), Andile Dlamini (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

Defenders: Karabo Makhurubetshi (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Koketso Mmathabo Tlailane (TUT-Pretoria), Bongeka Gamede (College of Western Cape), Sibulele Cecilia Holweni (College of Western Cape), Xiluva Tshabalala (Ma-Indies FC), Ongeziwe Ndlangisa (Sunflower FC), Kaylyn Octavia Jordaan (Spurs W.FC)

Midfielders: Oratile Dikgosi Mokwena (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Mamello Makhabane (JVW FC), Gabriela de Jesus Thomas Salgado (JVW FC), Robyn Kimberly Moodaly (JVW FC), Nonhlanhla Mthandi (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Mapule Nomvula Kgoale (TUT-Pretoria), Karabo Angel Dhlamini (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Lonathemba Mhlongo (Durban Women FC)

Strikers:  Hildah Tholakele Magaia (TUT-Pretoria), Neliswa Praiseworth Luthuli (Sunflower FC), Satisfaction Itebogeng Nthite (TUT-Pretoria)

Leave a Reply